top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Kress

Take 2: What I am REALLY going to use this Fall...Update from 7/14


Ahhh, the winds of change. How frequently our ideas morph and adapt to real world issues and, in some cases, new opportunities. After posting on 7/14 about the tech tools that I was planning to use in my classroom for the Fall, I was provided the opportunity to pilot the idea of Station Rotation (Hybrid) Model learning. This was something I had been looking into for a few months after hearing about it in other classrooms. How could this help my students? Would this be a way to package all of the other great ideas that I have gathered from conferences, Twitter and my PLN? Let's put this to the test!

Here are some graphics that I prepared for this year's Back to School Night to present to parents:

My room setup has changed to incorporate this new learning style. I have retained some of those dreaded stationary, cemetery-style desks for the Independent Stations, and the Collaborative Stations are mostly tables with swivel chairs, a couch and some lower seating with a coffee table. My big push in the past was for flexible seating, so I have tried to work that in with my new plans.


Independent & Collaborative Station Tags

For each of the stations I have developed generic task cards to keep students accountable and remind them of their directions during their work time. I teach 10th grade and am big on pushing for accountability and responsibility, so I have included some non-hand-holding directions as well. Here are the templates for the Independent Cards and the Collaborative Cards. Make a Copy and change for your needs!

The pics below are from my room. I am most proud of my 'Apps' board, although the Padlet wording did not come out as nicely as I hoped.

I am also uploading a video for Back to School Night with more instructions for my students. Take a look!

What are you using this year? Any of the tools above?

Emily

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Conclusions in the Crossroads

Today is the final faculty meeting for the 2018-2019 school year! Other than celebrating the imminent end of school, I am also celebrating the culmination of my Internship. To wrap things up, I took s

bottom of page