top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Kress

These things called “vacations”...



Teachers everywhere, you know what I am going to say before you even finish reading this sentence. Christmas vacation is upon us, and while I am enjoying this wonderful time with my family, I am still carving out a section of time to work on my favorite topic: course design and experience creation!

While the rest of the population may have clocked out on Friday to enjoy their precious time off, we teachers are a different breed. I am looking forward to Christmas break with 2 specifics in mind:

  1. Breaking in that new PS4 that ‘Santa’ so kindly gifted us this year, and

  2. Creating a change in my Spring semester curriculum that will allow me to ditch testing in favor of digital portfolio creation.

The idea of digital portfolios has been following me for some time now, and I am excited to try out my ideas now that my district is another semester closer to our 2019 student iPad rollout. I have been researching sound pedagogy behind the portfolios, testing out the various elements with my current students during the crazy pre-break schedules, and now I am ready to put it all together.

Ambitious? You bet. Scary? Slightly. Worth it? Only time will tell, but I won’t know for sure until we go for it!

Have any suggestions for me for planning? Do you do #DigiPorts in your class/school? I would love to hear your thoughts!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page