top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Kress

Aaahh...the sweet smell of acceptance...



I need to share something.

Something that makes me want to alternately jump for joy, scream in terror and pass out from exhaustion: my internship for my Master's program has begun!

The myriad of emotions I feel is reflective of many moments in my teaching career, ranging from starting my first year in the classroom to starting my Master's program, and most recently when I started this school year in a new position. Every one of these moments are linked to memories of uncontrollable excitement, followed by the nagging doubt of ability/imposter's syndrome, rounding out with the desire to curl up in a ball and refuse to add one more thing to my plate.

The one thing that all of these memories have in common is the first feeling of excitement. It's that experience of starting something new, challenging yourself and looking forward to the outcomes that continue to push me through these new experiences. My internship this semester is shaping up to be remarkably different from my cohort members' projects. My partner (school administrator finishing up the same program) and I will be taking over the Professional Learning of our high school for the entire spring semester, whereas the majority of the projects in my class are stand-along professional development sessions or action-research projects. Falling back on my new role, designing Professional Learning experiences is something that I have been doing since July; the only change now is that the success or failure of the program truly impacts me because I make the choices for content and delivery method.

Currently, my partner and I are creating the first actual date of the Spring Professional Learning Series opportunities, which will take place at the beginning of February.

Stay tuned for updates!

Emily

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The BIG Reveal

Well, at least that's done. Yesterday afternoon was the big reveal for the new Spring Professional Learning Series that will be taking place at the high school for the remainder of the year. The expla

bottom of page